It’s the Weekend!

Last night we made the mistake of running to the grocery store after work.  Surprisingly, I was able to find absolutely everything on my list (including sweet potatoes) with only a little help from stranger/friends!  What I failed to remember is I had to cut across two lanes of traffic only to merge across two more lanes of traffic to get me where I needed to be – at night, with rush hour traffic!  Did I get honked at?  Sure, but everyone gets honked at in this town so I don’t feel special…just accepted!

The trip home, all eight miles of it, took nearly an hour…AN HOUR!!!  Not much honking when everyone is sitting still.  Had to do some fancy merging at the base of the Bridge of Americas but successfully negotiated it and we made it home safe and sound!  The special meal we shopped for was replaced by two days’ of leftovers because I wanted to eat before bedtime!  Long story short…my daily meal planning days are over.  No way this girl is taking shopping excursions like this one every day.  I’m back to stocking up on the weekends and picking up odds and ends at the little market outside Panama City, where the honking is just as rabid but the traffic itself is manageable.

We have an excursion of a different sort this weekend.  We will be going to El Valle Anton – in the mountains of Panama.  Temps fall into the 60’s at night so we’re told to bring a jacket.  Glad I packed one!!!  Little bit of hiking, some bird watching and a nap in a hammock sounds pretty good.  Following are a couple of links if you are interested in seeing where we are going and what we are up to (and no, there won’t be any ziplining for either of us…)!

Where we are staying:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g635545-d1958890-Reviews-Hostal_Cariguana-El_Valle_de_Anton_Cocle_Province.html

A little bit about the town:

http://www.el-valle-panama.com/about.html

Let’s hope the final 17 miles on the narrow, winding roads are “honkless”!

One response to “It’s the Weekend!

  1. Sounds like traffic in India. Hope you are
    adjusting to the adventurous life.

    Theresa

Leave a comment